Membership of the Board of the Mental Health Commission

14 March 2012

The Mental Health Commission is an independent statutory body established under Section 32 of the Mental Health Act 2001. Section 35 of the Act provides for the constitution of the Board, which consists of thirteen members (one of whom shall be appointed as chairperson) all of whom are appointed by the Minister for Health. Section 36 sets the term of office for a Board member as being a period not exceeding five years.

The Minister for Health is now considering the filling of two vacancies on the Board which will arise from the expiration of the term of office of the Board on 4th April, 2012. Expressions of interest are now sought from persons with skills and experience relevant to the functions of the Mental Health Commission.

Further Information

Further Information on the vacancies.